101 in 1001: Question 13

Would you break the law to save a loved one?

I suppose it depends on the law, the saving, and the loved one. I don’t think I could ever kill someone in cold blood, regardless of the situation. I’d fight like mad to save someone I loved in a fight. I’d steal food if we were starving. I’d get arrested for protesting to make someone’s life better. Extenuating circumstances aside, I like to stay within the law. Often times, my ethical principles and it collide.

Some laws I strongly disagree with. I believe euthanasia and abortion should be available options to those suffering and if a person I loved was in extraordinary amounts of pain and distress, I would like to fulfill their wishes, regardless of what the law says. Other laws, like the ones prohibiting gay marriage, are also completely up for breaking, in my opinion.

Of course, I am big talk. I don’t know if I could carry out an act that breaks the law to such a degree should the event actually occur. At the end of the day, I think it all comes down to who gets hurt in the situation. Could you greatly improve someone’s life? Are you causing yourself detrimental harm in the process? Could you live with the consequences of the law you are about to break?

Like I said. It depends. The law, the saving, the loved one.

Leave a Reply

