50 Questions To Free Your Mind: Question 10

Are you more worried about doing things right, or doing the right things?

I care immensely about both. Lets start with doing things right. Growing up, I was obsessed with getting thing right, getting the good grades, being the best at whatever I was doing. As I entered adulthood, this intensified and my black and white perfectionism increased. It led to high leaving cert points and absurdly high expectations for myself. In a way that’s a good thing, because it means I learn things quickly and I am precise and accurate in my work. I am very aware that I take my need to get things right too far and am consciously trying to improve that. But I still get totally freaked when it comes to exams and unfortunately that shows no signs of changing.

Doing right has bothered me for even longer. Sometimes I feel like my conscious overtakes me. In my teens, I would have existential crises where I would become obsessed with sin and religion and what is “right.” Luckily, I got over that. I am still a very law abiding citizen and get super pissed at my friends if they steal or smoke weed or something retarded like that. These days, most of what I am concerned with is activism and promoting what I feel is right. Patient rights, LGBTQ rights, etc, etc. You know yourself. So to answer, I’ll go with the latter.

Leave a Reply

