50 Questions To Free Your Mind: Question 6

If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

This is a difficult one to answer. For one, no possible career trajectory of mine leads to me being rich. Unless part of that trajectory involves marrying an old, unstable billionaire. Nursing was never about making tons of money. I don’t even know exactly why I enjoy nursing, I just do. I love the interaction and the clinical science and procedures and the feeling you get when you connect with someone through helping them. It can be a dirty job and a difficult job but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

In another life, I thought that making a career out of music, be it teaching or performing or writing or whatever, would make me infinitely happy. And whilst I DO love music in an indescribable, emotional and fulfilling way, I am utterly ecstatic that I don’t do it as my degree. There’s just something about HAVING to do music that makes me want to avoid it completely. The way things are now, I get to sing and play and indulge in my musical whims without having the pressure of standards or perfection or anything like that. The sounds are just for me and they express everything that I cannot.

Leave a Reply

