50 Questions That Will Free Your Mind: Question 3

3. If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

Why do we do the things we don’t like?

Because we have to.

Because we are told we must.

Because we are scared of the reaction if we don’t.

I tend not to do the things I don’t like anymore. In the past, I really wanted people to like me. I really wanted to like myself. But I’ve grown up enough and had enough shitty days to be over that attitude as far as possible. These days if I am doing something I hate, it is probably because it’s for the good of something or someone I love.

Why do we like so many things we don’t do?

Because we appreciate them for their scarcity.

Because we are still scared. Scared to take the time from socially responsible things to put into art, music, sport, fun, risks and all the other things we keep telling ourselves we will do “one day.”

On the other hand, maybe we only like them so much because we don’t do them. It could easily be that if you did this thing all the time, it would become just as tiresome and trivial as something you hate. Sometimes, scarcity is key.

If you do truly love something, then more is more. Take the time. And do it.

Leave a Reply

