Workout On A Budget: Jillian Michaels Edition

As a college student, I know the pain of being stereotypically poor and having one too many nights of cider and pizza. I’m not a member of a gym and I own nothing more expensive than a pair of dumbbells and a yoga mat, but I believe that anyone can workout, get fit and enjoy themselves without breaking the bank.

So anyone who knows me knows I’m pretty much in love with Jillian Michaels. When I lived in Cork, we had twelve TV channels of varying interest to us which led to the best friend and I (plus all the housemates) developing strange obsessions with daytime TV, namely Home and Away, WWE wrestling and the Biggest Loser. There is something strangely satisfying about eating chips and ice cream while watching that show.

But back to Jillian. She is kick ass motivating on the Biggest Loser and is equally so on her DVDs. Its the one time I’m going to tell you to part with a few bucks on Amazon to get your hands on one of them. Especially if you’re the type to like short workouts and a certain dark humour when it comes to kicking above your own head.

And if all the fitness wasn’t enough, did I mention she is bisexual and recently had a kid with her partner? Flying the flag for queer families everywhere. I love it.

So you can fall in love with her as much as I have, I’ve robbed a few samples from Youtube to get you started. And even if you don’t want to workout, just look at her abs.

Then you might want to work out.

This is a link to the rest of the playlist.

 

Leave a Reply

