Love Your Body Series: Fake It Til You Make It

Learning to love and respect your body is not just a part of ED recovery – it can enhance the way any person thinks about themselves. Once a week, this series will explore my own attitudes to body-loving, spread the love and wisdom of other bloggers and throw out any tips and steps I learn along the way.

This weeks posts will not be up to scratch. I have lots of organising to do (amongst other things.) I was pretty set on not blogging. But consistency is a must, right?

Its not smart, clever and eloquent but the best way to learn to love yourself is to fake it. Pretend you love yourself so much until eventually it is just a given that you’re awesome. Hear yourself putting yourself down? Tell that voice to shut it. Remind yourself that you are beautiful, fabulous and awesome anyway. I bet its true.

No matter what you think yourself, know you are worthy to be loved. No, really. You are. Love yourself. Someone out there already does.

For years, I convinced myself that the only people who loved me were my family. And that was just because they were legally required to house, clothe and listen to me. My first kiss was quickly followed by a warning not to tell anyone that it had happened. Following encounters were painfully similar. I was 18 before a boy showed me any respect and by then, I was too far gone to believe anyone could treat me well. It was ingrained: I was not good enough.

This post may be chaotic, disorganised and fueled by wine, but the point remains the same. Love yourself, regardless of what has happened to you. No matter how anyone has treated you, it is not a reflection on your person. Treat people as you would like to be treated, be loving and charming and generous and kind. Be the person that you want to be.

How could anyone help but love that person?

 

Leave a Reply

