Workout On A Budget: Dance!

As a college student, I know the pain of being stereotypically poor and having one too many nights of cider and pizza. I’m not a member of a gym and I own nothing more expensive than a pair of dumbbells and a yoga mat, but I believe that anyone can workout, get fit and enjoy themselves without breaking the bank.

I danced consistently from the age of four until I was fourteen. Then awkwardness took over and I stopped. But in that time, I covered ballet, jazz, tap, hip hop and touched on some waltz, set dancing and salsa. Last year, I tried out Zumba and loved it (even though its expensive and doesn’t suit my schedule anymore.) So I still think dance is a good way to get some cardio in. Sometimes I like to rationalise that my dancing on a night out balances out the wine. It doesn’t.

If jamming along to Beyonce in your room just doesn’t cut it and you want a bit more structure in your workout, here are some hip-hoppy style videos to get the heart rate up.

Leave a Reply

