Love Your Body Series: Site Spotlight

Learning to love and respect your body is not just a part of ED recovery – it can enhance the way any person thinks about themselves. Once a week, this series will explore my own attitudes to body-loving, spread the love and wisdom of other bloggers and throw out any tips and steps I learn along the way.

Today’s post will contain nothing that I own myself. What it will contain is the work and websites of people far more knowledgeable than me and a ritual that I am going to do myself. My only addition to this is the notion that awareness is everything. I grew up in a constant flux of how I felt about my body but never how I felt in my body. I knew I hated it; I had no specifics as to why. It took a lot of therapy, meditation and growing up to even scratch the surface of just noticing what was going on. And that has revealed so much. Noticing the negativity, catching the bad thoughts before they develop into a deeper, more elaborate bad thought, being able to sit with pain or discomfort and know that that’s okay. So here’s some beauties from the blogosphere.

From Medicinal Marzipan: Learning To Take Up The Space You Deserve

(This is a lady who knows her stuff – her weekly Body Loving Blogosphere is my bread and butter.)

From Gala Darling: TED Talk on Radical Self Love

From Trust Tending: Rituals For Coming Home To Your Body
(Check out Kristin Noelle’s entire body of work if, like me, you like practical ways to practice changing your life)

  1. Sit and notice your hands for 10 whole minutes. Notice if they remind you of your mom’s or dad’s. Think back to childhood, remembering activities your hands helped you do, and let your memories move through your life up to the present. Consider how important your hands have always been to you. Consider doing this exercise with your feet, too.
  2. Write down a list of important things that have happened to your body. Traumas, injuries, surgeries, births, miscarriages, ecstasies. Honor this list in some tangible way: lighting a candle for it; bowing, literally toward it; setting it on a table or shelf or dresser top with a bouquet of flowers to symbolize its honor and importance.
  3. Write down a list of your body parts, starting with your head, and moving down to your feet: hair, eyes, nose, mouth, ears, neck, shoulders, back, chest, stomach, pelvis, legs, feet, etc. Next to each part, write 5 words that you associate with it. These may be adjectives, feelings, or even names of cities, events, or people that have some significance to that part. Ponder the thoughts and feelings each list of words evokes.
Leave a Reply

