February Fitness Plan

As part of my January New Month Resolutions, I followed Sparkpeople’s January Jumpstart Challenge. My only goal from this was to get back into a routine of working out and to increase my fitness level to provide a base.

So for a month, I did a ten-minute video every day and at least 30 minutes of cardio five times a week. The videos were great for keeping me going – you don’t really get a day off but the video only days are essentially rest days and you don’t lose momentum for exercising. As far as cardio goes, I made my peace with walking, filled in some yoga from Dave Farmar and Yoga Download, started running again and got my kickbox on with Billy Blanks.

And as the month came to a close, I noticed my fitness increasing as I ran more and walked less when out for a jog, my ability to lift weights improved and my flexibility returned. My base is set – I can only build on this for February.

My plan is like this:

  • Do one strength training video a day – keeping the momentum going works well for me without going over the top (See my video playlist here – this includes a stretching video for after runs and is missing my 10 minute cardio kickboxing [its on a DVD].)
  • Build up a running base – I plan on doing 30 minute runs three times a week and continue to increase running time and decrease walking time with a goal to run the complete 30 minutes by the end of the run.
  • Cross training – 2-3 days a week I want to include yoga (for bendiness) and walking (around college because I have huge long gaps between lectures to fill.) I also have workout DVDs to fall back on when I’m bored.

So this is the plan – a happy balance of fitness without going over the top compulsive exercise on my own ass.

As a side note, I am not doing this to lose weight – those days are over. Yeah, ED side of brain, I’m talking to you. What I am doing is following the dietary plan in Potatoes not Prozac by Kathleen DesMoiselles to try and balance my sugar sensitivity and mood swings. All going well so far.

Have a good day kids, more updates soon 🙂

5 thoughts on “February Fitness Plan

  1. It sounds like you’ve kicked off the new year with a bang. I’m pretty sure, at least from my experience, that the hardest part of everything was getting into a habit. Once I developed a routine, everything seemed to be a lot more natural. Good for you, and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

