Recordings: Closure Means Slamming The Door In Your Face

When I first wrote this song, it was my favourite thing to play. I liked the slightly dissonant, slightly jazzy feel that came out of my hands and I liked the touch of anger that came out of my mouth. Like all my songs, it seems, it started out about one person and ended up about him. I think the first inspiration really just culminated in the first two lines “we both know there’s no I love you’s, and none coming our way.” The rest, I guess, is about the simultaneous frustration and relief of realising that the person you are falling in love with just doesn’t want to be with you anymore. Frustrating for the obvious reasons – relief because the sudden coldness is not your fault. I’ll admit, it was mainly frustration – a lot of pain. But that’s a story for another song.

Leave a Reply

