What I Know: More Songwriting

More recordings. Your RSS will be inundated with my songs. (Lies, only every now and then.)

So, more songs about boys. When will I ever change? I actually wrote this song about 4 or 5 years ago – my best friend at the time (who I had non-mutual feelings for) was having a major low point in his moods and I was having an empathetic problem with this. A lot of my songs from this time period were about him – luckily this is the only one to really have survived 🙂

It was originally only two verses long (the first two) with the What I Know outro, but about a month ago (or perhaps less) verses three to four came to me. Another friend was having a drunkenly honest moment and revealed his recent low moods – to which, in my sleep deprived state, I screamed “If I have to live, you have to live!” And thus came, if you die, I die.

I am not quite sure why this song has stuck with me so long. Maybe there will always be a slightly damaged boy that I feel I can fix. Or maybe I just don’t want to know as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

