My Running Goals

This is semi-hilarious to me, because since my injury I haven’t ran more than 4 miles, and I have yet to run more than a mile and a half without needing a walking break. Whatevs, slow and steady, tortoise and hare, etc, etc.

But I’m a big believer in the whole “write down your goals to make them happen” school of thought. So here it goes.

In 2011

There are only 5 months left in 2011 so my only goal is to run 3 miles without stopping. And if I can do that at a sub-10:00 pace, so be it.

In 2012

So its a rather large jump from the first goal, but I am determined to run the half marathon at the Great Limerick Run in May. I figure its mind over matter right πŸ˜‰

I also would like to run a sub-30:00 5K. But that’s not so important to me.

In the next 5 years

I’m going to do a triathlon. I love biking (sidenote: 10 miler on the bike in 55 minutes this morning – heck yes,) I love running, and swimming ain’t too bad either. The running part will probably be the hardest because I have more natural ability for the other two (which isn’t to say I’m amazing or anything… Just relatively better πŸ™‚ )

I also want to have a 5K, a 10K, a 10-miler and the half marathon completed by the time I am 24.

Overall

I want to still be running, biking, swimming, everything when I’m 70. Hey, something will have to keep me amused in retirement.

Leave a Reply

