Damaged Goods

My voice died. I tried CPR, the paddles, everything. Except shutting up. Maybe that deserves a go. In any case, I can’t go to Season’s Greetings tonight, which is disappointing as it is always a highlight of choir and I have been in it for the last 2 years. But I would have to hit several high A’s if I went, and I am not even thinking about an A until next week.

This said, I still proceed to hang out with Dad as he learns Nella Fantasia. What started out with helping him pronounce Italian quickly became us jamming out a harmony so we can duet and scare people in the pub. Needless to say, the vocal cords aren’t happy.

As it’s coming to the end of 2010, expect a post soon about what I learned this year and any resolutions I may attempt. Lame, I know. I was going to write it now. But I thought at this side of Christmas it would be even lamer. 2010 was one of the best and worst years of my life in many ways, so a look back will be interesting.

In the meantime, I decided to set some really really easy December goals to keep some ounce of motivation in me. I have three, one a week until New Year’s Eve. And the overall goal is to either journal or blog as I go. But that’s just a hope.

Week 1: Drink 8 glasses of water a day (I am bad for drinking anything but tea. And this way, my skin will be nice and clear and kidneys good and hydrated.)

Week 2: Meditate once a day (My mind is going 90 pretty much all the time. And for anyone unfamiliar with the irishism, going 90 means going really, really fast and all over the place. [It can always mean mad in a good way e.g. the craic was 90 = it was tremendous fun])

Week 3: Cut out (or at least reduce) the processede sugar in my diet (I sugar crash a lot. And then I get upset.)

Over and out, compadres.

Leave a Reply

