Kate’s Awesome Wheat Free Yeast Free Pizza

“I could murder a pizza,” says I.

Why, asked Little Sister.

Why? Because I haven’t had a pizza in 3 years. Mmmm allergies. That’s why.

So I whipped up this. Note: my first time ever making pizza. And it didn’t come out half bad, all things considered.

Ingredients:

  • 120g self raising wheat free flour
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • around 100ml water, depending
  • oregano
  • pepper
  • chili
  • basil
  • 2 rashers
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 slice cheese (I used Dutch Gouda. And I only had one slice left. Use as much cheese as you want.)
  • 3/4-1 cup arriabatta sauce
  • 1-2 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 tbsp onion relish

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celius and oil a baking tray.
  2. Mix flour, salt and oil in a bowl and gradually add water to form a dough. You want the dough to be slightly stickier than is necessarily comfortable. Trust me.
  3. Plop your sticky dough straight onto the tray and spread out with your hands. I advise flouring up your hands before you start. This is messy work. You could form a shape before you put it on the tray but I knew that this would end in my epic failure. And more cleaning. Not fun.
  4. When you have the dough to your preferred thickness (I did a very thin base which crisped up really nicely,) place in the oven for around 10 minutes.
  5. In the meantime, prepare everything else. First off, the sauce. Put onion relish, tomato puree and arriabata sauce in a ramekin (or anything. I’m not fussed.) and give it a good stir.
  6. Chop up your tomatoes, slice p your cheese into thin strips and tear up your rashers however you like.
  7. After 10 minutes, take your base out of the oven. Spread sauce generously. I love sauce. So there was lots. Next came the tomatoes, the bacon and finally, the cheese on top.
  8. Give the pizza a good grind of black pepper, a touch of basil, however much chili you can handle and a liberal amount of oregano. Oregano is pizza’s BFF.
  9. Place back in the oven for 15 more minutes.
  10. Offer to your family before nomming a substantial part of it yourself.

Worth the three year wait? I think so.

Leave a Reply

