There’s A Fine Line Between Explanation And Excuse

I’m a terrible blogger. My blog views are down to what I can only assume is Megan checking to see if I have made good on writing a post of substance. So here it goes. An update and a why.

I’ve been hinting very subtly at a recent upheaval but it more or less goes like this:

  • I dropped out of college
  • I live in Limerick again
  • I am not perfectly well but I am aiming for improvement

At the moment, life is a heady mix of job seeking, music, attempts to sustain my French and Irish and a bumpy, up and down road of getting better.

I figure optimism is my best option so I’m trying to keep my bitching to a minimum. In keeping with this attitude, good things include:

  • My epic family and their amazing support. Mom, especially, I don’t what I would do without you.
  • My brief experience of teaching LC Music means I finally know what I want to do in life. And for sure this time. Mary I, get ready for me.
  • My weekly X Factor night with Megan. Makes my week. And I am not just saying that. Plus, I can’t remember the last time the fam embraced one of my friends so wholeheartedly. Well done, Meg 😉
  • Going back to Louise to do my Singing Teaching Dip and going back to choir with Maire and being part of something again.

So its not all doom and gloom and things are picking up. But I don’t want to look back years from now and and hate the fact that I have associated myself with bad stuff on the internet.

Its been fun kids. So this isn’t goodbye.

But its an Au Revoir.

4 thoughts on “There’s A Fine Line Between Explanation And Excuse

  1. Well, you’ve got another blog viewer, though I haven’t left a comment till now. I was enjoying your music posts! This relative stranger is rooting for you. From all that I know, you seem like a magical wonderful person. I’ve learned now, age 40, that there is never a straight path to anywhere, and sometimes if it is straight to begin with, it grows crooked later on. And, too, college most certainly isn’t the only way.

    I come from a family where education, all kinds of education, has never ended, and alternate routes (including living, not degree-oriented, education) are always honored. And some of my family didn’t get college degrees till their 30s and even in two cases until their 60s (!!!). And some of us not at all and are still wonderful and successful.

    I was not a person who liked college, although, with breaks, I floundered through. Now I wish I’d taken more time to realize myself as my own person. And afterwards…I always thought I would be a rabbi, and I went straight to rabbinical school after college. But I was too young and the pressure was too great, and after all the agony and ecstasy of being accepted into the program, I dropped out. What followed was a period of confusion and self-doubt. But I pulled through the intense life change, shed the pressure-filled expectations I had for myself, and began again. And here I am, happy!

    All the changes, all the crooked paths, in the end are good. I really believe it.

    hugs–

    Leah (your dad’s friend)

  2. p.s. this is one of the longest comments I’ve ever left on a blog post! I hope you’ll forgive me overstepping the bounds… xo

  3. Hi Leah,
    Thanks for sharing your story (love the long comments btw 🙂 )
    I am hopeful that it will all work out – and sure if nothing else, I can always travel the country, singing for my supper like Daddy 🙂

    P.S. I will continue the music series sporadically. I have stories to go with some of these songs that require focus to write well so I want to do them properly.

  4. This post makes me so happy. As does the fact you’ve posted after 5 million years. You must keep blogging. I need your blog like you need x factor (and me, obv.)!! Don’t leave me. I love you, I love our x factor nights and I just love you in general in case I didn’t mention it before. I’m happy for you and the way things worked out. You’re v brave and I love it. X

Leave a Reply

