Chemistry and an Irrational Love of Chadwick

Sitting at my computer in my mom’s pink Minnie Mouse hoodie, with Project Runway playing away, I know its a good day. A school free day. And I have ridiculous amounts of work done. More than I planned even. Plus exercise and all. Come on Leaving Cert. Bring it. So, whilst in my productive mood, I must relay my sheer adoration of chemistry.

I took chemistry because I had to, not because I wanted to. As a requirement for Medicine, I nagged and nagged and nagged my school until they were annoyed enough to introduce straight chemistry (instead of Phys/Chem like it always had been in the past.) That first week of 5th year, I almost instantly regretted the whole affair. Whilst I found myself surprisingly enamoured with Biology (never a favourite for the JC,) Chemistry soon became the bane of my life, forty minutes of daily tear-enducing boredom of equations and electronic structures. I relished Tuesdays which had no class timetabled and despised Thursdays which had a double first thing in the morning. I spent every Sunday poring over that damn book trying to force all that meaningless drivel into my head.

I couldn’t pinpoint the day, but at some point in the last few weeks of 5th year, something clicked. Like an epiphany or a religious revelation, knowledge suddenly spilled into my brain. Suddenly, those 6th years who assured me the subject would get better didn’t seem so crazy anymore. Now, I understood. The reasons for energy levels, oxidation numbers and covalent bonds became glaringly clear.

We finished the course just after Easter this year. And at this point, I realised: Chemistry is perfect. The way everything links together, the way there is a reason for everything, the way it never changes no matter where you go in the world, the logic never fails and it makes sense. I am a blatant nerd, utterly infatuated with science. And I am proud.

The morning of my mocks, between trying to cram my organic experiments which I had conveniently forgotten to study, I decided to take a glance at my scientists (with pictures and all. I was very prepared :P) What harm, it could be the three marks that bump you up a grade. Of course, the best way to learn mundane things such as these is to annoy your friends with fun facts.

Sinead, I exclaim, you know who you’d love? Chadwick. He discovered the existence of the neutron with beryllium and paraffin wax. Doesn’t that just turn you on?

chadwick
Mmmmm.

Then who comes up in the exam. I think it was meant to be 😀

2 thoughts on “Chemistry and an Irrational Love of Chadwick

Leave a Reply

