Musical Comedy #3: Bill Bailey

He’s not new or obscure or in any need of being put out there, but I adore Bill Bailey. You probably recognise him from Never Mind The Buzzcocks. And while the show is great, the stand up is outstanding. While not all of his comedy is music based, Bill Bailey is a ridiculously accomplished musician, playing a buttload of instruments including piano, guitar, theremin (my favourite) amongst tons of others that will come back to me eventually and I might edit them into this post.

One of the best things I’ve seen in recent years was Bill Bailey’s Explaining The Orchestra. It was funny, informative and I found out why the Eastender’s theme song irks me the way it does.

To demonstrate the beauty of his comedy, here’s a love song from his show Half Troll.

Leave a Reply

