I hear familiarity breeds contempt…

Sometimes you spend over 24 hours with someone and feel firmly like kicking them in the head, and others you could spend an eternity with and never notice the time pass. In either case, it is easy to find comfort in familiarity. Even in the former, its simple just to forget just how annoyed you were, pick up the phone and make plans with that person for the next day.

The same principle can also be applied to places. Take school, for instance. Whether you love or hate your institute of education, it isn’t difficult to get frustrated, or bored, or to become absolutely sick of a place. Yet no matter what, there is always a sense of comfort returning.

On Monday, I am starting my job as a summer camp leader. This isn’t my first job. I have stories from tills and scars from delis but never have I been entrusted with the responsibilty of entertaining children for three weeks. Don’t get me wrong, I relish the challenge, but still. Nerves.

This is why, when I arrived at training today, I was glad of the sense of ease that surrounded me. Yes, a lot of this attributes to the fact that I was surrounded by friends, aquaintances, teachers. But even the road I’ve neglected for the past month, the feeling of still questioning where I am even though I’ve made this trip hundreds (thousands?) of times, the inevitable breakdown in phone reception the closer you get to the school. All these things make me feel at home.

Before Easter I applied for a job as an animatrice at a French College. Essentially the same job as I’m starting on Monday. But in French. In Galway. With people I’ve never met before. Yes, it would have been a great oppurtunity and yes, my French would have rocked just in time for the big LC. But, man, am I relieved I didn’t get it.

Familiarity may breed contempt, but its worth it.

2 thoughts on “I hear familiarity breeds contempt…

  1. Well, we both know that only some of the really awesome people are being employed this year, compared to the people who used to disappear all the time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

